Playlist 04.19.20 : Five Songs for the Weekend

Playlist 04.19.20 : Five Songs for the Weekend
Playlist 04.19.20 : Five Songs for the Weekend
Playlist 04.19.20 : Five Songs for the Weekend

La Roux (aka Elly Jackson) had teased the remix earlier in the week, sharing a video depicting silhouettes of herself and the rapper.

The collaboration between La Roux and Tyler, The Creator doesn’t come as a complete surprise as the synth-pop singer provided backing vocals on ‘Gone, Gone / Thank You’, the tenth track off Tyler’s 2019 record, ‘IGOR‘. The LP went on to win the 2020 Grammy for Best Rap Album.

La Roux’s third studio album, ‘Supervision’, was released in February through her own label, Supercolour. NME rated the record three out of five stars, calling it “a pacy collection of eight tracks, all taking liberal cues from ‘80s funk and disco”.

In an interview with The Guardian, La Roux previously said she was thrilled to be dropped by her label, Polydor, as her contract stipulated that she still owed three albums.

Since the release of ‘IGOR’, Tyler, The Creator has shared two new songs, ‘Best Interest’ and ‘Group B’. In February, the rapper opened up about an Odd Future reunion, saying it’s unlikely the members will get together in the future. Last month, it was revealed in a Discord AMA that he was collaborating with Pusha T.

Read the rest of this article at NME

Dury’s forthcoming album The Night Chancers will arrive after last year’s collaborative album with Delilah Holliday and Étienne de Crécy, B.E.D.

The new record was recorded at Hoxa studios West Hampstead throughout May 2019, and is co-produced by Dury and his longtime collaborator Craig Silvey (Arcade Fire, John Grant, Artic Monkeys).

Speaking about his new LP, Dury says, “Night Chancers is about being caught out in your attempt at being free, it’s about someone leaving a hotel room at three in the morning. You’re in a posh room with big Roman taps and all that, but after they go suddenly all you can hear is the taps dripping, and all you can see the debris of the night is around you. Then suddenly a massive party erupts, in the room next door. This happened to me and all I could hear was the night chancer, the hotel ravers.”

Read the rest of this article at Line Of Best Fit

Aesop Rock has released two new pieces of music so far this year, his Music From the Game Freedom Finger EP this month, and his standalone single “Rogue Wave” in January. Now, the indie rock band Rogue Wave have playfully fired back with a song called “Aesop Rock.” (Kinda like Nick Lowe’s Bowi EP.) It’s the band’s first single in two years, and along with its release, they’re asking fans to donate to Tipping Point, “an Oakland-based organization raising money for families in need throughout the Bay Area. There is no donation too small.” Zach Rogue says:

It’s hard not to feel powerless in times like these. For us, we talked about it and wanted to do something, anything to help. If you listen to our track, please consider donating to Tipping Point. They do amazing work in the Bay Area, directly helping families in need. No amount is too small! We were able to track “Aesop Rock” a couple of days before the shelter in place in California. Who knows, maybe Aesop Rock’ll bust a jam called “Out of the Descended Shadow of Lake Michigan” next?


Read the rest of this article at Brooklyn Vegan

Floating Points has shared a new take on his track ‘Bias’.

The track featured on last year’s album ‘Crush’, lauded as one of 2019’s most illustrious dance records.

Released to outstanding acclaim, Floating Points used the album as a launching pad for his live shows.

Twisting and turning the material in fresh directions, the producer has now gathered two takes on ‘Bias’ for a vinyl drop.

Pressed on 12 inch wax, the release is available from April 10th with Floating Points sharing a preview with fans.

‘Bias (Mayfield Depot Mix)’ is named after the site of Manchester’s Warehouse Project, and it contains the full rush of a Floating Points live show.

Allowing his electronic approach to filter out in new directions, there’s a physical punch to the end result.

Read the rest of this article at Clash

The first Jamie xx first solo material in five years, titled ‘Idontknow’, has gone on pre sale. You can listen to it above.

The track has been in circulation since autumn 2019, played by Jamie himself, as well as Ben UFO, Caribou, HAAi, and Bicep. It was also included in Four Tet’s isolation Boiler Room stream.

The track follows the London producer’s appearance on Headie One and Fred Again…’s ‘GANG’ mixtape, with Jamie xx lending production duties to ‘Smoke’ from the long player.

‘Idontknow’ is Jamie xx’s first solo release since his 2015 debut album ‘In Colour’. You can pre order it here.

Last month, the London producer performed at a one-off climate change benefit concert with The Avalanches.

Read the rest of this article at DJ

P.S. previous PLAYLISTS & more by P.F.M.